What has happened to CDS

Home Forums Technical Support / Bugs Copernic Desktop Search Desktop Search 4 What has happened to CDS

This topic contains 19 replies, has 12 voices, and was last updated by  Joe 3 years, 2 months ago.

Viewing 20 posts - 1 through 20 (of 20 total)
  • Author

rkoyle

Just installed the CDS 4 update. What a mistake that was…. again. I’ve been using CDS for 10-15 years. V2 was the best, v3 was ok and v4 is very poor, show that every release just gets worse. When I logged into the support page it said I had an update. Not knowing it would render my installed version useless, I thought I’d give CDS 4 one more look after it failed to meet v3 standards previously. Imagine my disappointment when it would not accept my serial #. I then knew I was screwed – sure enough my old version was gone. Ok, I’ll give v4 a try and maybe if who ever owns CDS now has gotten their act together I’d buy a new copy.

First test: let do some email search. WHAT, wait it can’t find my email. Let me try this dropdown and select Today’s email – CRASH – CDS has to close… seriously?. Now reloaded from crash. Ok, let’s just select in the config. and select my email. What the heck, I see the Option for MS Outlook but it won’t let me select it. Well that’s messed up.I can’t select my email to be indexed.

Second: What about files. Huh, this stupid software didn’t import my configuration from CDS 3. What, did you for get about your own previous versions that people own? What has happened to the once great Copernic? The config shows all file paths on my computer are excluded – kind dumb don’t you think. After all, this is a search engine. How am I suppose to use a trial version if everything is disabled. If all I can look at is the pretty colors just send me a damm picture. And the colors and icons are inferior to previously release. Fire your UI designer.